Alvarado Riddle (Part One)

015

All readers, bare with me on this one. I think we are in for an interesting ride–hopefully!

If you ride the Green Line in San Diego, most likely, you’ve passed through the Alvarado Station. If you haven’t, you should. Not only is the Alvarado Station a beautiful one, it houses a neat little mystery that requires the seeing and the blind to solve together.

Pretty cool…huh?

It’s called the “Alvarado Riddle”. Robert Pincus of the San Diego Union Tribune describes it as, “A three-part riddle in poetic meter that is about the very spot near Alvarado Medical Center, where “Alvarado Riddle” sits. Most people willhave to solve it for themselves because the answer is provided in Braille only.”

On Sunday, I called Robert Pincus and left a message on his voice mail. Perhaps, I am a bit ambitious. But, curiosity got the best of me. It’s (now) Monday morning and I’m waiting for a call back. I’m, also, wondering if one figures out the answer, are they sworn to secrecy? In the meanwhile, I will share, with you, a bit of history about Alvarado station.

In fact, I will guide you to a brilliantly written on-line article by Mr. Pincus about Alvarado Station. Google “Instant Landmark Roman de Salvo”.

So, now, it’s Thursday. No call from Mr. Pincus. I am going to pursue this “riddle” and report my own findings. Hopefully, this story will bring visitors and readers to Adhna, Alvarado Station and all along the beautiful stops encompassed along the, Blue, Orange and Green that the San Diego Trolley has to offer.

Stay tuned, folks! This mystery has just begun.

-H. James

~ by adhna on September 17, 2009.

One Response to “Alvarado Riddle (Part One)”

  1. What is the answer?????

Leave a Reply

 
